Gauge widget available at Google Code

A few months ago, I wrote an Android gauge widget based on the vintage thermometer written by MindTheRobot. I also updated the Vintage Thermometer in the process. I received a lot of positive feedback on the gauge and a number of people also asked me to share the code. It took some time but as of today, the gauge is available at Google Code. Get your copy from http://widgets4androidhmi.googlecode.com.

The project uses Mercurial and I choose the BSD license since that seems to be the most flexible one.

I do have one request though… contribute to the project if you find the gauge useful. I am looking for other than gauge widgets to complete the set. Leave a comment if you want to contribute.

This entry was posted in Post Android, Post Scada, User Interfaces and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Gauge widget available at Google Code

  1. Ivan says:

    Way to go Freddy!!

  2. C L says:

    Thanks for sharing, Freddy!

    • atstechlab says:

      Take a look http://wp.me/pXwwu-2I, it will provide all information you need to get it running.

      • C L says:

        I made a small enhancement to allow the gauge-face bitmap background to be specified with a new attribute; if no bit map file resourceid is specified, it will use the default ‘plastic.jpg’ file. There are changes to only two source files: Guage.java and attrs.xml. Happy to share that, but don’t see how to upload the files to you without creating an entirely new clone of the depository…

  3. Pingback: Of Mobile Applets and Androids: Creating a Native Android Application for QuickBase | The QuickBase Blog

  4. Stelian says:

    Hi,

    I am using your Gauge in a small project here (maybe will get published one day), and found a couple of bugs in the code; I’ve put a patch here http://www.popies.net/tmp/Gauge.patch

    Thanks!

  5. I want to join your project and help in expanding it …

  6. Pingback: Gauge detail screen up and running | VoltBarn Gazette

  7. Jorge says:

    How can i use this on my project?
    I can’t put the files inside my bin folder from ctrl c/ctrl v, there is another way?

  8. Marcelo says:

    Hi, it’s possible to send the source code in a zip file?
    (enge.mma@gmail.com)
    Thanks.

  9. Peter Ruge says:

    Thank you very much for publishing your widget. I have a problem using it though. I started with the example that uses totalNotches=”120″, incrementPerLargeNotch=”10″, incrementPerSmallNotch=”2″, scaleCenterValue=”0″, scaleMinValue=”-90″, scaleMaxValue=”110″.
    Ideally, I want scaleMinValue=”0″, scaleMaxValue=”100″ and scaleCenterValue=”50″ but I cannot get it to work. If I just go ahead an change scaleCenterValue=”50″ then the gauge has the “50” at the center, but the gauge is not “centered” correctly. If I now set the min and max values to 0 and 100, you can see that only a part of the gauge is really used for displaying the values. It’s hard to explain, please just try it with the example. Any idea what is going wrong? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

